These forums are read-only and considered to be an archive. Please use the new Community for future interaction and posts.

Download size limit

Hi,

I have now got an operational FileVistaControl (i'm still amazed how i did it, because i have never used Visual Studio before, nor am i a programmer/website builder) and it is now authenticating perfectly with my test Active Directory server, giving or denying access where needed!

It does follow NTFS rules, giving an "access denied" on delete, for instance, if NTFS rights for a user are read only, but i expected using the Permissions="Traverse, List" etc etc command only for Compress and Exctract. If NTFS is Read Only for the logged on user, delete should be greyed out automatically, i think.

One other thing i have noticed, is that when i select Download on a 4Gb file, nothing happens.

Other than these 2 issues, i think your FileVista product is excellent!
Robert 10/27/2007 1:10 AM
Hi Robert,
Thanks for the feedback.
We tried to make the integration of the control as easy as possible. I am glad you are using the control without any hassle.

Actually, the control does not check NTFS permissions of the logged on user at first place, however it will obey NTFS permissions at the end like any other application. However, the control is very flexible so you can make the control aware of the logged on user's NTFS permissions on a specific root folder when you load the control programmatically.

You will need to retrieve the logged on user's NTFS permissions from Active Directory and assign the correspondent FileVistaPermissions to the Permissions property of the control in Page_Load event of the page where you load the control programmatically.

Regarding the download problem, it may be related to the problem discussed in this KB article:
FIX: You cannot download large files from an ASP.NET application on a computer that is running IIS 6.0

Let me know.
Cem Alacayir 10/29/2007 9:06 AM
Hi,