These forums are read-only and considered to be an archive. Please use the new Community for future interaction and posts.

Questions

I am new to the concept of this software and I am unfamiliar with how to set this up for a demo.
I have a test machine but am unfamiliar with databases.  How can I actually access this file server from another machine? Can clients transfer files using only Internet Explorer?
Also:
-Can the files be as large as 1GB?
-Is the operation intuitive? 
-Can the user accounts be managed such that the clients are able to create user credentials for their respective clients?  Can these accounts be managed by several people or just the admin?
-Can user accounts automatically be disabled after a few days?

Thank you in advance.
Chris 11/8/2007 10:13 AM
What I am really looking for are some detailed instructions on setting FileVista up.  What are the requirements?  
I have tried just the basic install on a test PC but when trying to run setup.aspx I am getting the error message: CANNOT VIEW xml INPUT USING xsl STYLE SHEET.
Please advise.
Chris 11/9/2007 2:19 PM
Hi Chris,
This is a web application so you need Internet Information Services (IIS) and ASP.NET 2.0. IIS is found only on server operating systems so you need Windows 2000/2003 or Windows XP Professional at least.
You get that error message because you are trying to open setup.aspx directly in Internet Explorer, this is not a .html page so you can't do this.

In the distribution package, there is file named FileVista.msi. Run this file to install the application on a compatible OS as noted above automatically. Then you can run the application by entering "http://localhost/filevista" in the address bar of Internet Explorer.

Regarding your other questions,
- Yes, files can be as large as 1GB. Actaully files upto 2GB can be uploaded.
- Yes, using the application is very easy as the user interface is very similar to "Windows Explorer".